Skip to main content

About California CEC

Mission

about CACEC

The worldwide mission of the Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) is to improve educational outcomes for individuals with exceptionalities.

CEC accomplishes its mission, which is carried out in support of special education professionals and others working on behalf of individuals with exceptionalities, by advocating for appropriate governmental policies, by setting professional standards, by providing continuing professional development, by advocating for newly and historically under served individuals with exceptionalities, and by helping professionals achieve the conditions and resources necessary for effective professional practice. CEC is a non-profit organization concerned with the education and well-being of exceptional individuals was founded in 1922. There are now over 24,000 members representing state units, Canadian providences, university students, divisions, as well as countries throughout the world.

California CEC Board of Directors 2022-2023
President Ann Vessey vesseymom@hotmail.com
President-Elect Barbara Sorter BSorter@rcoe.us
Past President Carolyn Nunes carolynnn.nunes@gmail.com
Treasurer Gloria Lopez gvlopezla@gmail.com
Secretary Tina Tranzor ttranzor@gmail.com 
Representative Assembly Sudha Krishnan sudha.v.krishnan@sjsu.edu 
Representative Assembly Monica Boomgard drmboomgard@gmail.com
Professional Development Matthew Love matthew.love@sjsu.edu
 Awards Committee John H. Hess jhhiu@sbcglobal.net
 Awards Committee (Co-Chair) Jude Blanco Wolf judeblancowolf@gmail.com
Membership How Alpert howalpert@ucla.edu
CAN Coordinator Victoria Graf vgraf@lmu.edu
Orange County Chapter Representative Deb Cote dcote@fullerton.edu
Executive Director Lisa Simpson lisa.simpson@sjsu.edu
National CEC Board Member Teresa Aceves taceves@lmu.edu

 

Last Updated:  17 October, 2022

© 2022 Council for Exceptional Children (CEC). All rights reserved.