Skip to main content

About California CEC

Mission

about CACEC

The worldwide mission of the Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) is to improve educational outcomes for individuals with exceptionalities.

CEC accomplishes its mission, which is carried out in support of special education professionals and others working on behalf of individuals with exceptionalities, by advocating for appropriate governmental policies, by setting professional standards, by providing continuing professional development, by advocating for newly and historically under served individuals with exceptionalities, and by helping professionals achieve the conditions and resources necessary for effective professional practice. CEC is a non-profit organization concerned with the education and well-being of exceptional individuals was founded in 1922. There are now over 24,000 members representing state units, Canadian providences, university students, divisions, as well as countries throughout the world.

California CEC Board of Directors 2019-20
President Carolyn Nunes carolynnn.nunes@gmail.com
President-Elect Ann Vessey vesseymom@hotmail.com
Past President Lisa Simpson lisa.simpson@sjsu.edu
Treasurer Gloria Lopez gvlopezla@gmail.com
Secretary Barbara Sorter BSorter@rcoe.us
Representative Assembly Rachael Gonzales rgonzales@csus.edu
Representative Assembly Monica Boomgard drmboomgard@gmail.com
 Awards Ann Vessey vesseymom@hotmail.com
Membership How Alpert howalpert@ucla.edu
CAN Coordinator Victoria Graf vgraf@lmu.edu
Orange County Chapter Representative Debra Cote dcote@fullerton.edu
Executive Director John H. Hess jhhiu@sbcglobal.net
National CEC Board Member Teresa Aceves taceves@lmu.edu
Professional Development Matthew Love matthew.love@sjsu.edu

 

Last Updated:  24 February, 2022

© 2022 Council for Exceptional Children (CEC). All rights reserved.